The End of the Beginning


Verstegen’s Good Week/Bad Week – 9.17.12

One of my favorite features of the Sunday San Francisco Chronicle is their Good Week/Bad Week list in the Insight section. Here are my selections for the last week:Image

Good Week

The launch of Application Craft. In 11 short weeks, we transitioned a good, solid beta to a commercial project, built a new website and created every key element of a marketing program. On September 11, during the Mobile 2.0 event in San Francisco, my clever and fastidious CEO Freddy May, presented our platform to a room of developers, tech executives and venture capitalists. He did  even make it to the hallway after without 2 VCs business cards in his hand. We’re off to a great start.

The African Queen (1951) starring Humphrey Bogart and Katherine Hepburn. Yes, I know this movie is more than 60 years old, but the Dame I watched it this weekend and were truly moved. Here are the basics: a Canuck (Bogart) and a Limey (Hepburn who didn’t bother with the accent) end up on a 30-foot craft floating down a hazardous African River at the start of WWI. Using their tiny craft, they intend to sink a massive German military boat. The beauty is in the relationship between the two main characters: Charlie and Rosie make a difference in the world by first helping the other realize their full potential. If you have never seen it, I highly recommend.

Bad Week

Americans in the Middle East. I understand that as a nation, we have perhaps earned some of the mistrust, even hatred that many in the Middle East feel for us, but I cannot forgive opportunistic stupidity. We now see bullies in Libya, Egypt and Yemen attacking Americans and American embassies for a movie that was not made in America or by an American, and not even funded by Americans! Apparently these terrorists don’t even need a reason to start a fight. Not only are they irrational and violent, they are apparently just dumb.

Willie Nelson. I fulfilled a dream of many years last week seeing the legendary country singer at Mountain Winery in Saratoga, but I use that term lightly. Which term? Well, “singer.” It is a heartbreaking truth that Willie Nelson can no longer sing. I don’t know if it’s his age or colorful use of, shall we say, additives, throughout his life, but he now only talks his songs, dropping the end of EVERY SINGLE LINE down several notes. Oh, and did I mention that nearly every song is performed at double-time? I guess to lessen the need of melody and harmony or whatever those musical terms are.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Great work my friend ,Thank you for sharing 🙂

Comment by jakesprinter




Leave a comment